Bowen Designs hits a HOMERUN with the newly released web exclusive Hulk statue!

2013 BD HULK EX 2 copy

The Bowen Designs web exclusive Hulk figure arrived recently and really looks great. It has been a while since I anticipated a statue as much as I did for this one. From the early sculpted progress pictures to the pictures that have been posted as other people get this, the anticipation for this statue just kept on growing. Once I opened the package, I was in awe of how great it looked. As great as the pictures look, this has to be seen to be completely appreciated. The sculpt was done by Khurram Alavi and Randy Bowen. Khurram sculpted the body of the Hulk digitally and Randy sculpted the head by hand. I have been skeptical of the recent trend of digital sculptures but this piece really looks as good or better than a lot of traditionally sculpted statues on the market today. The body and head really look like the classic bronze era Hulk that I know and love. Overall, the sculpt is dare I say, incredible! The paint color chosen was a little darker than Bowen Designs usually uses for their Hulk statues and the change really was a great decision in my opinion. The greens really stand out and the pant color was a nice choice as well. The base was changed from the early sneak peek pictures and I prefer what was chosen for production – the subtly cracked pavement really works well with the statue. Completely satisfied with this acquisition. A+ grade all the way. The only problem I can find so far is that I can’t decide how to display this masterpiece. Classic Avengers display? Defenders? I guess that is a good problem to have. Don’t sleep on this statue, it’s must-have for any of my gammabros out there. Here are a few early pics – enjoy!

Bowen Designs Avengers display: Iron Man, Captain America, Hulk, Thor, Antman

Bowen Designs Defenders display: Namor, Silver Surfer, Hulk, Dr. Strange

This entry was posted in Sculpted Hulk: Statues, busts, etc. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bowen Designs hits a HOMERUN with the newly released web exclusive Hulk statue!

  1. ratchet says:

    Great pics, Dave! Looks amazing – I will be posting mine on Monday – I feel the same way you did, best Hulk statue of the bunch!

  2. Jeff says:

    As I mentioned on Steve’s site, easily my favorite Bowen Hulk to date! And just my opinion, but I think he looks better with the Defenders line-up than the Avengers.

    • thejadegiant says:

      Thanks Jeff! He is definitely the big dog in the Bowen pack. It’s rare to find a statue that I have not even one small crit when reviewing but this is one scores a 10 on so many levels. I agree with you also on the Defenders point. After setting both teams up, Hulk jumped out better on the Defenders better display in my opinion as well. Thanks for commenting!

  3. joefixit2 says:

    Those are some great pictures Dave! Definitely an INCREDIBLE statue!!!

What do you think?

