Bob Larkin Hulk homage by Herb Trimpe

I am a huge fan of the Classic Bob Larkin painting that has been used in Marvel marketing over the last 30 or so years. I love the face … from the clenched teeth and fist to the raging anger captured so well, this image has always been a favorite of mine. I really enjoy the art that captures the Hulk as a monster and this piece really fits the bill.

Herb’s take on this homage is the 4th artist to do a commission for me in this series. Herb really nailed this one. It’s clearly an homage to the classic painting but it remains faithful to Herb’s signature style of drawing the Hulk. The eyes, teeth, hair are 100% Herb. I couldn’t be happier with this piece.

Thanks for looking,

JG's sig

This entry was posted in Hulk artwork, Vintage Hulk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bob Larkin Hulk homage by Herb Trimpe

  1. ratchet says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen this one! I am really jealous – Herb is my favorite Hulk artist – this looks fantastic!

    • thejadegiant says:

      Thanks Ratch! Herb is one of my favorite Hulk artists as well. Herb still cranks out the commissions with great quality and a quick turnaround. You should look him up for a commission (let me know if you need contact info).

      • ratchet says:

        I have quite a few commissions from him – every one he did was very high quality – like you said – and pretty reasonable prices!

  2. joefixit2 says:

    Herb has been in the game for years yet he still puts out amazing quality of work!

  3. John says:

    Herb is my favorite Hulk artist, but I don’t think he has the touch he used to in the Hulk 150s-170s when I think he was at his prime. To me, the eyeballs are not centered and his fist is too small. But a great piece none-the-less. Thanks for posting.

    • thejadegiant says:

      Hi John, thanks for the comment. I agree about the fist as it looks a bit small but I don’t mind it as the whole piece is incredible – my eyes are drawn to the face which looks amazing. I love the eyes! Herb always drew the Hulk’s eyes a bit wonky – it is part of his signature style. Herb drew Hulk issue 150 over 40 years ago. I have yet to find an artist that draws exactly the same way at 73 years old as they did at 33. Styles change and evolve over time – sometimes dramatically. I am amazed that he is still a prolific commission artist at 73 and I am very pleased that his style has not changed dramatically. I am thrilled to be able to get a commission from Herb that maintains many of his signature characteristics that I recognize from his days on the Hulk title. Herb is a machine and at 73, is much more prominent on the comic art scene than many of his peers from their heyday at Marvel. Herb does a lot of commission work and is very easy to get something from. He does a lot of shows and always brings pre-done artwork that is done at a very high level. I get geeked up a little every time I am able to add another Trimpe piece to my collection.

What do you think?

